American Horror Story: The Annoying Orange

Unless you have been living under a rock in the past few days, you’ve already heard that Donald Trump is officially the USA’s newest president-elect. To some, this was a victory, but to many, reality hit hard as tears rolled down the faces of souls of broken and shattered hopes and dreams; hopes of a forward movement, a peaceful, equal, accepting America. But, the victory of Donald Trump invalidates it all.

Twitter welcome screenLooking through social media, people across the world are raging, furious, confused. By default, Hillary Clinton should have become president but due to the electoral college’s voting system, the vote for presidency is less about votes and more about constituency, meaning that the many of voters’ are not considered in the scheme of things. Personally, I don’t know the nooks and crannies of the electoral college, but I know, with the amount of knowledge I have, that I don’t agree with it.

Unfortunately, the election is not only an American Horror Story, but it’s a worldwide nightmare. The Annoying Orange, so-called Trump, is very well-known for his lack of empathy and his very short-temper. He’s mostly known for being “racist”, “misogynist”, “homophobic”, “xenophobic”… The list goes on.

As a person of colour, faith and a female, I am absolutely terrified for what’s to come. I have, many of times, been a target of harassment by simply being who I am. Being of a Muslim faith, for as long as I have lived, I have lived in a certain extent of fear. My insecurities flare from the impact that 9/11 had on Muslims across the world. Ever since I moved to the west, every-single-person I encounter – be it at college, at shops, on buses – I ask myself whether this person understands or if they’re fearful of me. It doesn’t help that in recent years terrorist organisations have flared up like wildfire, claiming to be Muslims, sabotaging the image of millions of Muslims around the world.

Being a female Muslim always meant that I was an easier target for harassment. In electing Mr. Doritos (not a typo), the harassment will be seen as something acceptable. Now, more than ever, harassment will be on the increase and who will have to suffer the consequences? Anyone who isn’t a white male.

globe-indonesia-equator-80467When US residents tell the rest of the world to stop making such a big fuss, they don’t realise the impact America has on the rest of the world. It has a profound impact. Just look through social media, look at any article that talks about taking in unaccompanied refugee minors for example and look at the increase of xenophobia and racism. People don’t care that these minors are vulnerable, they don’t care that they lost their homes and parents, they just don’t care; their only concern is themselves and “helping their own first” when the majority of them would not bother donate a euro to a homeless person on the street.

Donald Trump’s campaign was built on hatred. In allowing him so much media coverage, people began to normalise his hate speech, they began to see it as acceptable and fair. I find that terrifying.

I can only speak for myself but here’s what I have to say. All my life I have lived in fear. I feared rejection because of my religion and skin colour. I feared interactions with others in case they weren’t so accepting. Every time there was a terrorist attack, I lived in fear of leaving my house in case people see me as one of the terrorists. When the bus gets full, I feel like it’s my duty to give up my seat because I felt unworthy of it. I always felt like an inconvenience when I go to shops and get treated with bitter coldness after seeing the person ahead of me being greeted with a warm smile.

Are my fears irrational? I certainly don’t think so. Not when you have been harassed in the past and still get the odd passing comment from unforgiving people. In electing Donald Trump, the fears rise, they flare up. He has millions of supporters and not many expected him to win the election but he did; which makes you wonder about the people around you. Who’s understanding and who wants you deported or even killed.

Imagine a life where you’re in a constant battle of trying to embrace who you truly are but have millions of people wanting your kind to be dead. Most of these “minorities” that Trump is so strongly against are decent, loving beings who are going on about their daily lives, only to have their confidence shattered and their existence invalidated. It’s a scary world we’re living in and hell is about to break loose.

pexels-photo1It’s ironic that America is known as the “land of the free and the home of the brave“. Considering Trump’s agenda to basically destroy and even kill the “minorities”, America is leaning more towards the land of the oppressed and the home of the cowards. Those “minorities” will no longer be able to freely express their faiths and beliefs. Cowards will harass those they cannot identify with and the country will go into ruins. Rallies have already started before Trump even started his post as the POTUS.

black-and-white-woman-girl-sittingIn videos and articles circulating the internet, the devastating effect of the election is already prominent. Teachers have reported an increase in bullying at school, mental health workers reported an increase in suicidal ideation, religious places have been tarnished with hateful graffiti, Muslim women have taken to social media to highlight the abuse they have received such as getting their hijabs pulled off their heads, workers doing their daily jobs got told they should be deported, woman have been harassed by men quoting Trump‘s vile speeches.

People tell me that they don’t know which would have been worse, Hillary or Donald. Personally, a female, a person of colour and faith, there’s no doubt in my opinion. Trump is, by far, the worst candidate to be elected.

Today, I pray for America. Today, I pray for humanity.

Leave a Reply

