Playing with My Demons

pexels-photo-513025These demons find comfort on my chest

and my heaving is music that puts them to rest.

***

Although every so often their voices may not weep,

they begin to screech as soon as my mind wants to sleep.

***

I listen to them whimper,

letting them convince me that I’m not who I believed in.

Sometimes they fill my head with a cold-hearted whisper,

making me question my very being.

***

For as long as I remember, I’ve played with my demons a game of tug of war.

But every time I believed in winning, they would shout and they would roar.

***

For quite a time I felt invincible, just a short pull away from the win

but the cloud of doubt begins to pour and I let loose again.

***

They persuade me that they are indeed a part of me,

as if the battle was against my mind over this empty, soulless body.

***

People say that the best way to defeat your enemy is to change it’s voice, not to silence it.

***

So, while my demons try to serenade me with notes of fear and desolation,

I learn how to swoon them with songs of love and determination.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

